The Scheduling module is available only if you've included the Scheduling module in your subscription. If you're subscribed to Time Tracking only, the Scheduling module will not be available unless you choose to include it. The scheduling pages, and its sub sections, can be accessed one of two ways:
- Via the Schedule page itself.
- Via the Schedule tab of the main navigation menu.
As seen in the image above, there are several useful sections of the Scheduling module, which we will be covering them all within this article. The default page is the Schedule page which displays the schedule of all the staff members that you're managing / supervising, or all of the staff members within the account if you're an Admin level user.
Right below the Schedule page sub menu, you’ll notice a couple of filter buttons. The main filter button will open up a new menu on the left hand side of the Schedule page. You can filter by:
The first drop down list will allow you to choose All Staff, or search for a specific staff member. If a specific staff member is selected, only that staff member will be displayed via the scheduling grid.
The second drop down list will display all of the locations currently created within the account. Selecting a specific Location will display shift data for that Location, as well as shift data for other locations. The shifts in other locations will not be a solid color as seen in the image below. You can also select all locations to be displayed via the scheduling grid.
The third drop down list allows you to display all positions via the scheduling grid, or a specific Position.
The fourth drop down list will allow you to display all departments via the scheduling grid, or a specific Department.
Below these lists is a section called Options. These of course can also be enabled in unison with the other filters.
- Show Scheduled Staff will only display staff members via the scheduling grid that have shifts currently assigned.
- Show Unscheduled Staff will only display staff members that do not currently have any shifts assigned via the scheduling grid.
- Show My Direct Reports will only display staff members that are being supervised by the individual enabling the filter option.
- Exclude Other Locations will hide any locations from the scheduling grid that do not relate to any of the other filtering options currently in place.
- Exclude Open Shifts will hide any available open shifts from the scheduling grid. Additionally, the second filter button, as seen in the images below, affects the shifts themselves. Once enabled, more information will be displayed directly on the shifts.
SAVE / PUBLISH
A saved shift will be shown as a pattern instead of a solid color when a shift is published. When a shift is saved, it is not an active shift, and the staff member it is assigned to will not be expected to work the shift. Saving a shift will also not notify the staff member if there are enabled notifications within the Notification Preferences page. Once the shift is published, the staff member will be notified via the mobile phone application, and via email / SMS, assuming that the notifications have been enabled.
The Publish - All Unpublished button will publish any saved shifts that are currently being visible within the scheduling grid. The Publish - Republish All button will republish all shifts that are visible via the scheduling grid, and will resend notifications to staff members if they are enabled via the Notification Preferences page.
The Options button (wrench icon) reveals quite a few powerful features that will assist in reducing the time it takes to complete your schedules. We will cover them one by one below.
A schedule that you're created, and viewing, can be saved as a template. The template can be named, given a start / end date, and saved with, or without, staff members. Saving a template without staff members means that the shifts will appear in the Open Shift row.
All saved templates can be found via the Schedule Templates page. When accessing the Schedule Templates page, you can Edit / Delete existing templates.
Applying a template is as easy as 1, 2, 3. Click the Options button (wrench icon), click the Apply Template button, then click the Apply button! Of course you'll want to ensure that you have the correct template selected. Additionally, you can specify the Start Date of the template. The Start Date is where the template itself will first be applied. Once a template is applied, the shifts will be saved rather than published. The shifts will need to be published manually.
The Clear Schedule option will clear all of the shifts that you're currently viewing. This includes saved shifts, as well as published shifts. You can utilize the Clear Schedule button for the Day view (this will only clear shifts for the day that you're currently viewing), the Week view (this will only clear shifts for the week that you're currently viewing), and even the Month view (this will only clear shifts for the month that you're currently viewing).
COPY TO NEXT WEEK
This option will copy all of the shifts that you're currently viewing, and paste them over to the next week. This includes saved shifts as well as published shifts. Once the shifts have been pasted to the next week, they will be saved rather than published. The shifts will need to be published manually. Before clicking the Copy To Next Week button, if there are any shifts already created for the next week, they will be deleted, and replaced with the week being copy / pasted.
To unpublish a schedule, click the Options button (wrench icon), then click Unpublish Schedule. The purpose of this option is to convert published shifts to saved shifts so changes can be made without alerting staff members of the changes. Once the changes have been made, you can republish the shifts.
In the upper right hand corner of the Schedule page, you'll see the Print button. This will allow you to print the schedule that you're currently viewing. The Day view, Week view, and Month view all have different designs to better capture the shifts.
Directly below the Print button, you'll see the navigation buttons. These buttons will allow you to navigate the scheduling grid from day to day, week to week, and month to month.
By clicking on the Day, Week, and / or Month buttons, you can switch between the Day, Week, and Month views of the scheduling grid. The Today button will revert the schedule back to todays current date. For example, if you're creating a schedule two weeks in advance, the Today button will send you back to the current week. The arrow buttons allow you to easily navigate through the different days, weeks, and months of the schedule.
The Schedules drop down menu will display additional scheduling related pages.
This is a scheduling filter that will arrange the scheduling grid into departments rather than the default arrangement which is by staff member. This can also be selected by clicking the icon highlighted in the image below.
Similar to the departments view explained above, Schedule: By Position will arrange the scheduling grid into positions.
This is the personal schedule page for the staff member that's viewing it. The My Schedule page is similar to the Schedule page, and can be viewed by the Day, Week, and / or Month. You're also able to view any available open shifts by clicking the Show Open Shifts button. Depending on how the Ximble account has been set up, clicking any scheduled shifts will display more information, and allow for trading, coverage, etc. Finally, the Sync button allows you to sync your My Schedule page with either Google Calendar, or Outlook.
This page will display a daily grid of all positions / locations, or an individual Position / Location, which is divided into an hourly basis. This will help reduce the amount of gaps in coverage.
We covered saving / applying templates above, but this will take you directly to the Schedule Templates page where you can create a new template from scratch, edit an existing template, or delete unneeded templates.
There's an Audit Log for the Schedule module, as well as the Time Tracking module. Each one has different information to be displayed, as well as different filters to enable. The Audit Log will display the events that take place for each staff member. For example, below are some of the actions that can be reviewed:
- Created From Template
Hello, Ximble family!
We want to hear about your great ideas. If you have a feature request, enhancement suggestion, or improvement, let us know by submitting them to Ximble's Ideas page. Your submission can receive votes from other Ximble users, or you can vote on ideas yourself. Simply click the ADD A NEW IDEA below to check it out.