Start by clicking on the Schedules option:
By using the drop down menus in the top left corner, above the schedule, you can easily filter out just a specific employee, a specific location, department or a specific position. Also, you can choose to exclude open shifts from schedule, as well as filter out only scheduled/unscheduled employees. These options can be beneficial when managing a large group of employees and they will allow you to narrow down the list of employees you’re working on.
To create a new shift for an employee, simply click on the date slot you want to create the shift for. The following dialog box will open:
Enter a shift start time, its end time and select a position. Optionally, you can also set a name for your shift.
Additionally, by clicking on the “Advanced Options”, the system will show you an advanced shift creation dialog on the right side, shown below:
Through this dialog, you can select an option to always see the advanced dialog instead of having to view the simple shift creation popup first. Besides the date, start and end time and a position for the shift, you can also choose to repeat the shift by using one of the available patterns. Additionally, you can also add an unpaid break to the shift you’re creating and add notes that your employee will be able to see and review.
In order to edit an existing shift, click on it to view a popup dialog. Once the dialog is shown, you’ll be able to edit the shift details.
Publishing a schedule can be done by either publishing one shift at a time (by clicking on an un-published shift and then on the Publish button), or by clicking the “Publish” button in the top right corner above the schedule. In the latter case, the schedule will be published for everyone on the view.
If you want to erase a specific shift, simply click on it and then click on the “Delete” option in the popup dialog.
For more information about Open Shifts, what they are and how to manage them, please review our Managing Open Shifts article.